My trip to Paris

On Saturday, I was lucky enough to go to Paris on the Eurostar on a ‘secret mission’ with fellow bloggers. It is difficult to pinpoint the best thing about the trip because the whole day was fantastic – an early start at St Pancras was made better by a cappuccino and my ‘first day at school’ nerves were allayed when we started chatting away.

The train journey was pretty seamless and I chatted to the lovely Flying Saucer, Frassy, Inspire the Starling, disneyrollergirl Young Shields & Vanessa Jackman. All on pretty good form considering it was so damn early- main topic – why are there so few dedicated menswear bloggers? Discuss. With breakfast.

Morning Eurostar with my disco jacket

Morning Eurostar with my disco jacket

The devil's in the detail at Gard du Nord - Frassy, me & Fashion Dreamer

The devil's in the detail at Gard du Nord - Frassy, me & Fashion Dreamer

This is what a gaggle of bloggers looks like on the Paris Metro

This is what a gaggle of bloggers looks like on the Paris Metro

We got off the Metro at Concorde and walked out across the Jardin des Tuilleries, in an attempt to recreate something akin to Jak & Jil’s lovely photos. Sadly, I just couldn’t look stressed enough.

Jardin de Tuilleries

Jardin des Tuilleries

We headed to Collette, the hippest of all the shops in Paris. It was all minimalist clean lines and shop assistants telling us not to take photos. Now, there’s nothing more likely to irritate a gaggle of bloggers than that and to be honest, I have little patience for shops like that. But I did buy a Nixon watch so I can’t have hated it that much. Funnily enough, a middle aged man & I bought the same watch at the same time and amazingly, it is versatile enough to work on both of us.

We had a lunch at stylish restaurant B4, and my rosbif arrived amazingly French, delicious and practically raw. Lunch was accompanied by a presentation from Marion Cointot, an ex-Lacroix, award winning designer who is currently drawing up business plans for the production of her first collection. I think she merits a blog post of her own so watch this space.

After lunch, a rushed but brilliant guided tour of Madeleine Voinnet at Musee Les Arts Decoratifs (must go back to see the rest) and off to the champagne river cruise. My, weren’t we spoilt?!

Sam from Chiconomise in her Tom Ford sunglasses

Sam from Chiconomise in her Tom Ford sunglasses

Champagne giggling

Champagne giggling with Frassy & Carl, Inspire the Starling

At the start of the day I was wearing my ‘disco’ jacket, a black sequin vintage affair. By mid-afternoon, it was just much too hot and I changed into my new Chemins Blanc top for the cruise.

Denim dress from Topshop, Vivienne Westwood & Louise Buchan necklaces, Jones pumps

Denim dress from Topshop, Vivienne Westwood & Louise Buchan necklaces, Jones pumps

After a quick ice cream by the Eiffel Tower, it was time to go home. I felt as if I could stayed another night and day, but the journey back was as smooth as the one there and before I knew it, it was time to say goodbye to everyone including Lorraine from Beauty and the Dirt, Fashion Dreamer, BitchBuzz, Styleslicker, Mademoiselle Robot.

A little rose on the way home to dampen the goodbyes

A little rose on the way home to dampen the goodbyes

Thanks to Eurostar (check out the blog) & We are Social for organising it.

A

P.S. The only thing that could have made it better would have been to have fellow blogger, S, there too. She was away in Cornwall sadly but in homage to her, I constantly referred to myself as ‘we’ whenever talking about the blog, a bit like the royal ‘we’ but better.

8 responses to “My trip to Paris

  1. Fab report Miss Disco! I KNEW that Colette would never let anyone take pics so I tried to do some sneaky ones but no, there were TOO many eagle-eyed staff in there! Love your watch though, I was eyeing those up…

  2. Mate, I am well jealous. I read loads of these bloggers! Looks like you had an awesome time.

  3. Excellent reportage!! I should’ve spoken to the manager of Colette if we would take pictures as we’re both partners with POP/ThePOP.com arghhh!!!!

    Kit x

  4. Also, thanks for bringing me along with you in spirit. I will also be taking you to Helsinki with me.

  5. wow that sounds amazing! the thing i am most jealous about is that fabulous paris is only a train ride away, and not a 24 hour painful flight… sounds like you had so much fun and sampled all the best of paris!

    X

  6. Pingback: Paris – The Video « Disco Nap

  7. Pingback: Competition: Win tickets to Paris! « Disco Nap

  8. Pingback: STYLE SLICKER » Blog Archive » News: 'Little Break To Paris' Competition, Win A Pair of Eurostar Tickets to Paris

Leave a Reply

